Halloween – part One

It’s that time of year againand ok I know Halloween hasn’t happened yet but all this week posts will be halloween based I think.

In my last post I talked about the Pumpkin Festival in Virginia and I said I post pictures. Well I have pictures but no battery left. So I’ll do my best to describe the events.

I went along on the Sunday, it was a beautiful bright fresh autumn afternoon, the sun was shining and everyone was in high spirits. My sister and I got dropped off by our Dad a little outside of festival because the roads were closed.

The first event that we met was the soap box derby. It was great crack watching the drivers nearly crash at every turn in their home made, trolly converted “vehicles” I’m just glad I wasn’t in one. Moving on we totted down the road and met the main street of events, before we could see anything the sound of drums took a hold of us and we followed the music until we came to Samba Nova. A modest group of no more than 10 had the crowed around them feeling the beats and dancing along to the rhythm. A quick look up and down the road we could see bouncy castles for the little ones and even a bucking bronco. We made our way up the street past a huge construction which was the obvious reason for the roads being closed. It was the stage for the outdoor theatre production The Pumpkin Bites Back. My sister and I giggled with excitement about watching the show later on. Up past the stage there was a small lane packed with people, so full it was no one seemed to be moving. It could only be the food court.

We followed our noses into the crowed till we could move no more. It is only when you are surrounded by a vast amount of hungry people you see what they are really like. The Irish hungry are the Irish nasty. People were very rude, pushy and down right ignorant, and I went from emotions of “It’s ok we are all in the same boat no one can move” to “STOP RAMMING ME WITH YOUR STUPID PRAM I CANT F*ING GO ANYWHERE YOU SILLY COW”. The crowd were so irritable I didn’t dare utter a syllable of either thought. It was early enough in the day and all we wanted was something warm to drink. We got to the nearest coffee stand where there was no obvious cue but I politely stood behind a woman till she was served and left. The man serving me looked worn out. I asked him for a latte and a hot chocolate, he just said “no” and moved on to the next person. I tried to ask again and he snapped that he had no milk but would in a minute. One minute or not I wasn’t waiting around him to be snapped at again so my sister and I braced ourselves and rejoined the slow moving crowed, with endless prams and buggies trying to hack off our ankles to get a few feet ahead. At the next coffee stand(that took us half an hour to reach) the crowed was smaller and the cue was obvious. I joined the cue behind a woman with a pram (my ankles were safe for the moment). By the time the woman was served another woman not too much older than myself and her mother cut right in front of me. At this point I was so frustrated with people I wanted to shout and them and cry at the same time. I closed my eyes and just took a breath. It was worth it though, the man who served us very polite and friendly, such a contrast to the first coffee man. I got a mocha with extra Belgian chocolate and my sister got a hot chocolate with marshmallows. It was just what we needed to life our spirits and get us excited again about the festival. When we got to the end of the lane we found a quiet spot and enjoyed our hot drinks, then we hopped a wall to the main street (we weren’t going through that crowed again).

TBC

Leave a Reply

